FAIL, Kalec!

May 27, 2008 at 10:12 am (Game Time) ()

From the Kil’jaeden encounter in the Sunwell —

Anveena: I serve only the master now.
Kalec: Anveena, you must awaken, this world needs you.
Anveena: But I’m… lost. I cannot find my way back.
Kalec: You must let go! You must become what you were always meant to be! The time is now, Anveena!
Anveena: Kalec…? Kalec?
Kalec: Anveena, I love you! Focus on my voice, come back for me now! Only you can cleanse the Sunwell!
Anveena: The nightmare is over, the spell is broken! Goodbye, Kalec, my love!
Kalec: Yes, Anveena! Let fate embrace you now!

Kalec, don’t you know that you’re supposed to express at least a little distress when the LOVE OF YOUR LIFE is about to be converted into RAW MAGICAL ENERGY, eliminating a demon lord but also ERADICATING HER SELF?

Note: NEVER FALL FOR A BLUE DRAGON. He will not give a shit when I am noble and self-sacrificing (gag gag gag) and die.

Note II: the female character has an entirely passive role (first as a prisoner, then as a power source, then as a sacrifice) and must die at the behest of the male character. Self-sacrifice is a typically feminine trait? Kalec does not seem to give a shit. Conclusion: WoW is sexist! Not…that that’s anything new…I could write a whole fucking essay on how the representation of men and women in WoW is skewed. Several essays. *sigh*

10 Comments

  1. hyu said,

    Spoiler warning about things in Kil’jaeden kill.

    While I agree somewhat about the part about Anveena being a passive character, there are some things I disagree about here. First of all, I think those phrases aren’t in correct order. In the SK Gaming Kil’jaeden kill video and in Wowwiki they are in the following order:

    Anveena and Kalecgos

    * Kalec: Anveena, you must awaken, this world needs you!
    * Anveena: I serve only the master now.

    * Kalec: You must let go! You must become what you were always meant to be! The time is now, Anveena!
    * Anveena: But I’m… lost. I cannot find my way back.

    * Kalec: Anveena, I love you! Focus on my voice, come back for me now! Only you can cleanse the Sunwell!
    * Anveena: Kalec…? Kalec?

    * Kalec: Yes, Anveena! Let fate embrace you now!
    * Anveena: The nightmare is over, the spell is broken! Goodbye, Kalec, my love!

    Encourage:

    * Kalec: Goodbye, Anveena, my love. Few will remember your name, yet this day you change the course of destiny. What was once corrupt is now pure. Heroes, do not let her sacrifice be in vain.
    <-(this was the only one I didn’t hear in the video)
    * Kalec: Strike now, heroes, while he is weakened! Vanquish the Deceiver!

    I really think that when the phrases are in your order, Kalec seems more heartless. I think the scene is pretty confusing. While it seems sad that Anveena has to sacrifice herself just as Kalec confesses his love towards her, it’s also really weird that Kalec doesn’t try to find another solution. In the Sunwell Trilogy, Kalec’s first concern was always Anveena’s safety. I find the “You must let go! You must become what you were always meant to be! The time is now, Anveena!”-part most sad. Especially the “always ment to be”-part. I started liking this Anveena-Kalec pairing just as I saw the video, but then it was too late :<

    Now then, about WoW being sexist, I’d like to hear examples. I’m not saying you’re wrong, but some examples would be nice. I have the feeling I remember something, but I can’t put my finger on it.

    P.S. I’ve got to cheer about this somewhere: Blood Elves got the Sunwell back! ^^

  2. Alittan said,

    actually, that’s not how it happens. it’s

    Anveena: I serve only the master now.
    Kalec: Anveena, you must awaken, this world needs you.
    Anveena: But I’m… lost. I cannot find my way back.
    Kalec: You must let go! You must become what you were always meant to be! The time is now, Anveena!
    Kalec: Anveena, I love you! Focus on my voice, come back for me now! Only you can cleanse the Sunwell!
    Anveena: Kalec…? Kalec?
    Kalec: Yes, Anveena! Let fate embrace you now!
    Anveena: The nightmare is over, the spell is broken! Goodbye, Kalec, my love!
    (Kalec is awfully silent, obviously grieved.)

    So I don’t think even Kalec realized exactly what she was planning to do, nor that he was extremely enthused about it. He only said Yes, Anveena! because he finally got through to her.

  3. ivoryandhorn said,

    Sorry for the lag in reply!

    Hyu –
    You’re right, the change in phrase order really does make a difference. It may be that I copied them wrong, or perhaps they’ve been corrected since I first saw them.

    I can think of a couple reasons why Kalec may not have tried to find another solution–tired out from possession, panicked by Kil’jaeden coming through…but honestly, I don’t know if I really think either of those things are enough to justify him basically saying “Yes, Anveena, you were always meant to die! You must!” I can’t say as to whether or not I like the pairing, though it seems oddly fitting–a human-shaped blob of magic and a blue dragon…

    As to the sexism, off-hand one example is the fact that there are succubi but no incubi. While there are female players who might enjoy having a hot demon woman following them around, there are just as many who’d rather have a hot demon MAN follow them around. The succubus summon is pretty obviously straight male fanservice, but there’s no equivalent for straight female players. Having only a succubus available for summoning essentially ignores the existence of those players and forces them to take the option for men or not use a succubus. Plus only succubi being summonable sort of implies that only females of the species are weak enough to be summoned by a puny human/gnome/orc/blood elf, while the males are not. So there you have a kind of double sexism.

    P.S. I know! I wonder what this will do for their reasoning for aligning with the Horde and how the rest of the Horde will react. Should be exciting!

  4. ivoryandhorn said,

    Sorry for the lag in reply, Alittan!

    As I said above to Hyu, I admit that I may have happened upon a version of the conversation that was flawed and based my conclusions off that flawed version.

    However, I still disagree with your assessment. The way Kalec says “Let fate embrace you now!” says to me that he knew all along that Anveena had to die in order to defeat Kil’jaeden. The exclamation mark after “Let fate embrace you now!” says to me that he was pretty supportive of her having to die–he may not have liked it, but he encouraged her down that path and supported her decision. He may not have been as enthused as the flawed version I quoted in my original post made it seem. But he was still all for Anveena sacrificing herself, even though he grieved for her loss.

  5. hyu said,

    That succubus example is pretty good. But the is one flaw. How about felguards? If I’m not wrong, they’re male and have a six-pack :D Of course they don’t have strings and a whip, but anyways.

    Actually, now that I think of it, women in WoW have pretty strong positions. For example, we have night elves. Their leader is Tyrande Whisperwind, a woman. In their culture, women can be seen in two very different positions. Originally, only women became priestesses of the moon. This is very typical of course. But then, while men can often be seen sleeping in the woods (or Emerald Dream), most of the soldiers are women. Now this isn’t so typical at all. Then we have Jaina, Sylvanas etc. (Where are the strong blood elf women? Oh, Lady Liadrin :3). But I admit, even if I don’t remember something now, most games are sexist. Almost everything is. Please do tell me if you have any more examples, ’cause I’m feeling interested now ^^

    And again about the Kalec story. I really think we haven’t seen enough. It even might be a scheme of Blizzard’s, who knows? Maybe they want us to hate Kalec now, and later they show the true side of things. Kalec was so obsessed with Anveena’s safety, that i don’t think it’s even possible for him to let her “die” so easily. But of course, then there is the fact, that she doesn’t really die. We can’t be sure about what’s going to happen to her. There is one different point of view though. Kalec is a blue dragon, strongly related to magic. Maybe he saw Anveena, the Sunwell and the two’s connection in a different way, or knew something we don’t. Only time will tell :)

  6. ivoryandhorn said,

    Hyu–
    I see what you mean by the felguard, but felguards just aren’t as overtly sexual and fanservice-y as succubi, six-pack of not. Being male and buff isn’t enough to qualify them as fanservice.

    All of your examples of women in WoW with positions of power are entirely correct. However, they are still vastly outnumbered by the number of men, or male characters, that are in positions of power. Looking over WoWwiki’s list of primary and secondary leaders of the Alliance and Horde, there are 16 male leaders to 3 female leaders.

    Plus, Tyrande’s rule over the night elves is not secure, it’s being challenged by Fandral Staghelm (who constantly asserts she’s not fit to rule. On what grounds? He’s been asleep for the past 10,000 years! Sorry, I don’t like him very much. >___>) and he’s backed by a group of (traditionally entirely male) druids. Jaina’s rule extends only over an island in Kalimdor. Sylvanas has a relatively stable rule and is actually doing stuff (like getting a plague ready, preparing to kill Arthas) but she’s also regarded as untrustworthy and borderline evil by the rest of the Horde. Lady Liadrin is in a position of power in the blood elf world only because she restarted the Blood Knights using M’uru; despite commanding this important part of the blood elf fighting force and being the one to redeem the blood elves, she isn’t one of the three main leaders of the blood elves.

    Oof, more examples? How about one of the blood elf male joke quotes, “Don’t you wish your girlfriend was hot like me?” The blood elf male model gets a lot of flak for being too “girly.” Blizzard’s quote only backs up that interpretation. Making the quote “Don’t you wish your boyfriend was hot like me?” would have kept the pop culture reference, and it would have eliminated any potential for the quote to be considered offensive to any gay male players. It would have kept the vanity that’s a theme in ALL blood elf quotes. But using that version would also acknowledge that there ARE female players, and would have been overt fan service FOR those female players. And as with the lack of incubus, that’s not what Blizzard did. In this case Blizzard went for the cheap shot, aimed at getting a laugh out of a) insinuations of homosexuality about the “girly” model and b) the “girly” model’s vanity. It’s mostly an appeal to the humor of a straight, male audience, and it ignores the straight female and gay male audience in the game.

    Whew! Moving on–I wish I could share your optimism about Kalec and Anveena, but I really can’t. I think Anveena’s story’s going to end at the Sunwell, and the rest will be Kalec trying to avenge her. Though, you do have a point about Kalec’s connection to magic maybe giving him insight mortals may not have had. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

  7. hyu said,

    That’s a good example as well :) And a new point of vision for me. With my friends (we are girl players :D) we always used the joke to pair our blood elf males, and I actually thought that was fanservice for us. But what you said is entirely true. And I’ll release you from endless examples now.

    But still more about Kalec and Anveena. This year, the Dragons of Outland is going to be published, right? And as it’s a sequel to the Sunwell trilogy (not to mention by same authors), there could (and should :3) be something about Anveena and Kalec, even though the name and some other info tips that it’s mostly about Tyri and Jorad. At least I’m looking forward to this, and my hopes are pretty high.

    P.S. Does anyone know anything else about Dragons of Outland? Is there a release date already?

  8. ivoryandhorn said,

    Hyu–

    Oh, well, thanks. :) Glad I introduce a new point of view to you. Pairing your own blood elf males seems more like making your own fan service than actual fan service provided to me, though I can’t say I blame you. ;)

    I don’t know much about the supplementary materials to the Warcraft canon like the mangas and novels and such (I prefer to just read summaries online), so I’m afraid I can’t help you with the release dates. But maybe there WILL be some follow-up to Kalec & Anveena! Who knows. :)

    I keep forgetting to say this, so I’ll say this now–thanks for you comments and discussion! I really appreciate it.

  9. hyu said,

    Ah, this has been very refreshing ^^ It’s fun to talk about lore with people who are interested in it (Not to mention that this is great practice for my English :D). I wouldn’t even be interested in WoW if it wasn’t for the vast lore. I think it’s the power behind WoW, to have such a great world with great lore, filled with great characters.

    But the bad thing is that this issue seems to be kind of over. Anveena and Kalec do still have material to be discussed about though :) Too bad I don’t understand this blog (or whatever) system. Well, maybe I’ll stumble on these across the net, just like I did with this one :P

    Thanks ^^

  10. ivoryandhorn said,

    Hyu–

    Oh yeah, I love talking about the lore, too! :D I think it’s a big part of why I like playing WoW.

    Good luck in your internet travels.

Leave a Reply

