Reaction Shots: KHR! 201

July 13, 2008 at 8:33 pm (Animanga) (, , )

IT’S OUT IT’S OUT IT’S OUUUUUUUUT!

(Warning: May Contain Spoilers & Incoherent Rambling. What, I Have to Balance All the Brainwork I Put Into Sakura Gari somehow.)

1. Dear Shouichi,

Did you somehow miss the Amano Akira supervillain memo? Being arrogant and overconfident is a one-way ticket to DEATH.

Oh well.

2. Shouichi puts great store in Byakuran’s opinion; he measures Genkishi’s worth by the fact that he’s Byakuran’s confidant (the scanlation says confident, but as that makes no rational sense, I’m going to pretend it’s supposed to be confidant) and he seems to want the Vongola rings to earn Byakuran’s approval.

3. OH GOD THE WRONG IT BURNS. If I look I will find fic where Gamma has a lolita-complex for Uni, won’t I? *facepalm*

I just. How can this be right? I mean, presumably Gamma didn’t love his former boss as if she was his daughter, the way he seems to have affection for Uni. And Uni is what, eight-years-old? She can’t possibly love Gamma the way her mother did, which presumably was not as a father.

I think I’ll just concentrate on the tragic, cliche unrequited love angle between Gamma and his former boss because if I contemplate the other possibilities and implications of Uni saying “I love you. Just as my mother did.” I think my head will have no choice other than to EXPLODE from the wrongness of it all.

3a. Gamma has no proof that Uni’s little-girl self was her true nature? I think he’s trying to convince himself of that but it’s not working–he still calls her by her pet name, the Princess. He believes that it was and that Byakuran did something. But if that’s true then he’s failed her, failed her mother, by not protecting Uni from Byakuran’s evil mind-manipulating. What right does he have to wear Black Spell (Giglio Nero) colors then?

4. Why doesn’t Gokudera just do that thing he did when he first found the skull cannon, where he sends out a wave that neutralizes the flames of the other person?

5. I’m not really surprised Chrome’s illusions are good; we already know she has the potential and that the problems before were that she didn’t have the will or belief to put into them. I mean, she does now–Mukuro-sama sent her a message and a mission!–so of course her illusions are better.

But she’s still not quite well, as Kusakabe’s concern shows.

5a. Awww Kusakabe takin’ care of the kids! And Chrome! I’m getting fond of TYL!him. I wonder why he’s chosen to throw his lot in with Hibari and keep his lot in with Hibari to boot.

5b. Chrome’s hair…previously I’d thought it just grew weird like Mukuro’s after she’d cut it, but one of those last pages in the chapter make it look like she styles it that way. Or that Mukuro styles his hair that way? Why would a notorious criminal want pineapple hair, I ask you?

6. OH COME ON STUPID CLIFFHANGERS.

GOKUDERA YOU CAN’T BE DEAD PLEASE DON’T BE DEAD YOU’RE TOO COOL TO DIE.

GAMMA YOU’RE FINALLY GETTING SOME DEVELOPMENT PLEASE DON’T BE DEAD EITHER. JOIN THE VONGOLA! SAVE YOUR BOSS! SOMETHING!

7. Mukuro Report: still no news. D:

I think anticipating Sakura Gari chapters is less frustrating because each one feels almost like a standalone, and there aren’t any stupid cliffhangers like with KHR!

Leave a Reply

